RetroWoW Forum

Full Version: Hello Im DanIsTheMan :)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi their ok so im danistheman I have played warcraft 2 but then i stopped playing it then i started playing world of warcraft but i was intrested in wow vannilla So now i am here playing retro wow right now im installing it and im just wondering What is the population of this vanilla server? anyway i hope to meet lots of good people
Greetings DanIsTheMan,

I first started on Warcraft II back in like 1999 when my uncle gave me all his old PC games. That eventually got me playing WC3, into WoW and here I am today.

The active population here is in the hundreds, I'm not sure the exact figure, I mostly play at night in the eastern time zone, so perhaps other times of the day are more active.

If you have never played vanilla before I'd recommend doing some research. Find a guide on how to play a particular class. Or take some time learning various classes. Maybe start with the Solo quests, the Dews are pretty easy to kill - find the quest teleporter at the mall. But for sure get the basics down before attempting to raid or do PvP, otherwise: 
  • "You're gonna have a bad time" ~ Ski Instructor.

I'd say get your feet wet a bit and come back to the forums with more direct questions, if I see a thread I usually respond to it. 

Since you're brand new, here's some basic facts about the server:
  • Everything is cross-faction. BGs, raids, it doesn't matter if you are horde or alliance, you can group up together and BGs randomly assign you to either side. 
  • Almost every epic is purchasable via gold. This allows the player to gear in various ways. If you so wish you do not have to step into an instance, but I encourage you to attempt raiding when you feel that you are ready.